Write

sleddingThe word “write” is intimidating to me. I don’t consider myself to be a writer. A talker, yes. I’ve never disciplined myself to keep a journal faithfully. My version of writing regularly in a journal boils down to one or two entries every other year. Unfortunately my children will not have the luxury of looking back into my memories of the past.

My grandma always said I should write a book about our family. I never really put much stock in that, although I have toyed with the idea from time to time. Writing was never my forte though, and even in college composition classes I had great difficulty deciding on topics and narrowing them enough to create a mildly interesting paper.

I do want to somehow bottle up this time with my family and friends so that I can fully remember the accomplishments, victories and joys that we’ve experienced together. Mostly I just record these things through photography, but I’m not always on top of that either. Maybe someday I’ll figure out the best formula, but for now, I try to be present in my current situations and keep track of the lessons I learn along the way.

I’m linking up with Lisa-Jo today for Five Minute Friday.

6 thoughts on “Write

  1. I’m stopping by from Five MInute Friday. I hear you! It’s hard to use the word writer for oneself. I feel that I’m saying I’m something I’m not…or something like that. But. To be a writer, all you have to do is write. And don’t despair if you can’t do that now because your kids are little and you don’t have the time. Your time will come, and you will still be able to live in the moment, and get some writing in, too. I’m finally there!

  2. I agree with Dorothy – the only thing you have to do be “be a writer” is WRITE! Even small captions for your photos are enough. Though I think pictures are a better way of keeping memories for your kids to look at later and I really should try and do better with that myself.
    ~ Erika Marie via Five Minute Friday link up

  3. As a writer, I confirm what Dorothy and Erika Marie have said: To be a writer, you just need to write. It will come in God’s own time. Keep those photographs. There is nothing more powerful than memories evoked by photos for writing a short paragraph in a journal about a special day and placing the photo with it. Of course, I must admit a journaler I am not. A blogger, an author, a website builder yes, but not a journaler. Thanks for allowing me to visit via FMF.

Leave a Reply

