What I Learned in February

1. I have a big mouth. Why oh why do I have such a big mouth? Okay, maybe I learned this in January or even fifteen years ago, but this month it has become more evident to me. I love to hear myself talk about all of the trials and tribulations and injustices of my own little world. Why do I dwell on these things? There’s work to be done. I have to keep myself immersed in scripture and let my heart dwell on the truths of God’s Word.

2. Spring is where it’s at. Ohio weather is wearing on me. Kids need to be outside without eighty thousand layers of clothes that I have to find and/or put on their bodies. I’m about to clear out ALL of the boots and replace them with flip flops.

3. I am so thankful for relationships God’s placed in my life. I sometimes wonder when these people will realize what an obnoxious, self-absorbed person I am and never turn up again. Here’s to making my life and house more open in the coming months so that I can be available to whoever wants to come and have a cup of coffee (or water, no judgment) and talk while I shut up and LISTEN.

4. Life is a vapor. Make it count for all things eternal. Play these statements on repeat in my slow learning brain.

5. This recipe for Crockpot Brown Sugar Balsamic Glazed Pork Tenderloin is amazing. No, I didn’t have any ground sage, but it was still delish!

6. These Oatmeal Whoopie Pies are a nostalgic trip back to the Little Debbie Oatmeal Crème Pie, but so much better. Warning: do not waste these delights on children. They will lick the filling out and throw away the cookies. Use filling #2 though. I just can’t get behind putting marshmallow fluff between two homemade cookies. I apologize if I have offended anyone.

7. The movie, The Green Mile, is not based on a true story. I watched the movie recently (I’ve seen it before but didn’t remember much about it), and asked Nate if this stuff really happened. As the movie progressed I realized how stupid my question was.

8. One should always make sure a vehicle’s windshield wipers are not frozen to the windshield before turning them on. Even defrosting the van for thirty minutes prior to this “test” resulted in a broken wiper. Live and learn.

9. When going to Meijer at 11pm, use the self checkout lane with the conveyor belt and large bagging area. Do not attempt to bag five hundred items at the small self checkout kiosk. Thank you to the late night employees who suspended my purchase so I could scan the rest of my haul with ease.

10. When gearing up to clean the kitchen, blast music from High School Musical, TobyMac, Mandisa, etc. to garner strength for the task. Also, I’ve been enjoying Fernando Ortega for a more calming option with lyrics straight out of scripture.

11. My eight-year-old son’s spelling of the word “illustrated” is “illistraded.” My six-year-old daughter spells “illustrated” like “ilushtradide.” If you know my daughter at all, her spelling is exactly how she would pronounce the word. It brings joy to my heart to see these two creating books that were written and illustrated by them just for fun.

12. These two bicker
IMG_3281
but secretly love each other…
IMG_3282

Linking up with Emily for What I Learned in February.

3 thoughts on “What I Learned in February

    • Suzanne says:

      Funny, Cherith! There are definitely some similarities. I’m sorry Steve had to endure my self-righteous lectures!

  1. Speaking as a big sister myself, I say confidently: That’s what big sisters are for. I mean, we’ve got it all figured out and we just want to help them…right? Haha…here’s to learning to keep our collective (#1 thing learned in Feb.) big mouths shut. Happy March – let’s hope something we learn this month is what it feels like to feel warm spring air on our skin again!

Leave a Reply

