Helping Hands

A thumbs up from Tess!

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to let the kids help out with housework. The last few days, Tommy has unloaded the dishwasher for me. It’s been so nice AND he seems to enjoy it! He even asks to do it!!

I let the girls spray the tables with the spray bottle (filled with water and a little dish soap) and wipe them down, and they sometimes set the table for dinner.

Tessa enjoys throwing her yogurt container away and putting her spoon in the sink (the older kids do it too). She kept giving me the thumbs up sign repeatedly today after doing this and she wanted me to give her the thumbs up back! It was adorable!

I still need to get a good system down for getting laundry folded and put away. I think that will be my everlasting struggle! I know the kids can help and they usually do to some extent.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about making chore cards for the kids like these. I love the idea of starting something new and dreaming about how to tweak it to make it work for us. I even love the creating and designing part, BUT, I lack the discipline to follow through and establish the routine. I really don’t want to pass this trait onto my children, so I need to get it together!! Any suggestions on how to train myself into better habits (other than prayer which I would definitely appreciate!)?

Leave a Reply

