Projects for 2012

Here are a few projects I want to try this year. As I am surfing the web, I always find interesting things I’d like to try, so we’ll see if I can do it. It gives me a chance to be creative in small ways, which is about all I have time or brainpower for!

Homemade Hair Detangler – I have two, soon to be, three girls. We would definitely benefit from more detangler! I’ve only bought it once, but if I can easily make it, I think that would be the best route.

Fabric Flowers – (I really enjoyed making some like these (using fabric instead of felt), and I’d like to try a different variety…)

Cork Board – We found a cork board that I think we’re going to hang in the dining room. I’d like to hang a world map and some of of the kids artwork on it. What do you think about painting the actual cork part? We’re going to paint the frame, but I kind of like the idea of painting the whole thing too.

Freezer Meals – I’d like to make a few freezer meals to make life easier after I have the baby in March. I’ll definitely be making some meatloaf because I can throw some potatoes in the oven with it, add a veggie, and dinner is served. I’d love to try these stuffed peppers, but my husband doesn’t like peppers. Could I serve his in something else? What about quiche or pot pie? Do you bake it first, then freeze it? Any other ideas?

I also tried Aunt Sally’s healthy muffin recipe. We ate a few of the muffins and put the rest in the freezer. It’s been nice to just pull one out for breakfast and heat it up in the microwave. Mmmmmm! The recipe is below.

Aunt Sally’s Healthy Muffins
1 cup applesauce
1/4 cup nonfat milk (can eliminate milk by mixing in more applesauce – I used 2% milk because that’s what I had)
1/2 cup wheat bran (I substituted some ground flaxseed for this)
1 egg
3 med. bananas mashed
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 t. vanilla
3/4 cup flour (or wheat flour)
1/2 t. baking soda
2 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
1 cup oats
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I didn’t have any so I omitted these)
Combine applesauce, milk, wheat bran and soak for 5-10 minutes.
Combine egg, bananas, vanilla, brown sugar and then add wheat bran mixture.
Add dry ingredients to wet.
Mix in chips, raisins and nuts.
Bake 17-19 minutes in 350 degree oven.
Makes 16-18 muffins.
3 thoughts on “Projects for 2012

  1. I bought detangler when Ivy was a baby and made my own ever since. I use one squirt of conditioner and fill the rest with water.

    I like a lot of freezer meals too. Lazagna freezes really well. You don’t have to boil the noodles or cook it first. Freezer to oven, about 2 or 3 hours. Chicken Casserole, not cooked, freezer to oven 2-3 hours. Tina’s Chicken recipe from the cookbook, not cooked, freezer to crockpot, high all day. Diced sweet potatoes, dice , uncooked, freeze on a cookie sheet , put in a ziploc and pour out what you want, toss with olive oil and cook about 30-40 minutes. I don’t cook my meatloaf either, freezer to oven, 2 hours. For quiche, I put the raw ingredients in a ziploc and freeze. Then you thaw and pour it into a crust and bake. You can freeze crust in a blob and thaw it too. I read somewhere that cooked eggs dont freeze well. I figure if i’m making a meal, I might as well make 5 and put 4 in the freezer.

    I did not do this when I was very pregnant! Actually, I did not do anything when I was very pregnant.

Leave a Reply

