Radical Acts of Self-Care

I just read this post today from Beth at Five Kids Is A Lot Of Kids. I can relate to her replacement of “Me Time” with “Radical Acts of Self-Care.” Don’t get me wrong, I definitely enjoy a date with my husband, some girl time, or an excursion to anywhere by myself. Truth is, I don’t get to partake in any of these activities nearly enough to make me feel sane. And I always return home wanting more: more time, more adventures, more relief from the day-in and day-out childcare/housekeeping duties. So, it really does make sense to celebrate those radical acts of self-care each day. For instance, this morning I enjoyed my chocolate, peanut butter, banana smoothie. I drank all of it. I didn’t even share it with any other little mouths (okay, so I made them each their own). It was so delicious!

My second radical act of self-care for the day will hopefully be a nice, hot shower by myself. I may be pushing my luck with this one, but here’s hoping! This way of thinking may just revolutionize my days! I am not encouraging obsessing over ways to indulge in selfishness all day. I am just saying that sometimes you need to take a moment to rest and take care of your own needs (and maybe an occasional want) when a free moment presents itself.

This really has nothing to do with Autumn Adventures, but apparently I am unable to commit to anything on this blog! I’m hoping to be back with some more fun activities soon! We have been enjoying our beautiful fall weather here in Ohio, but I have been really bad about documenting it here…

Leave a comment