I strongly dislike facebook

How do I know what I should post or not post? What should I “like?” Should I go so far as to share this life-changing article with the world (read: my facebook friends)?

My heart is wicked. I weigh the pros and cons of commenting on someone’s status that I know will be a critical moment in his/her life when he/she partakes of the wisdom flowing from my fingertips. Or will it do more damage than good?

Yes, facebook can be an avenue of encouragement, marketing or even just information, but it can also be used for evil. I am speaking of my own sinfulness. Just a little “like” here and an ignore there, and I can pick and choose my way through my friends lives, judging whoever strikes my fancy. Seems like social media isn’t as harmless as I once thought.

I am not going on record saying I will never frequent facebook’s blue and white pages again (I do like using facebook for event planning, keeping updated/praying for others, to name a few), but I am saying that my own heart needs to get checked at the door. I have no business being there if my purposes are to bully or criticize others.

That being said, my meditation for the day is:

There’s more: God’s Word warns us of danger
    and directs us to hidden treasure.
Otherwise how will we find our way?
    Or know when we play the fool?
Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh!
    Keep me from stupid sins,
    from thinking I can take over your work;
Then I can start this day sun-washed,
    scrubbed clean of the grime of sin.
These are the words in my mouth;
    these are what I chew on and pray.
Accept them when I place them
    on the morning altar,
O God, my Altar-Rock,
    God, Priest-of-My-Altar.

Psalm 19:11-14 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

