Beautiful

beautiful

I love this quote posted by Miz Booshay (scroll to the bottom of the post – although I do love some duchess fashion as well)! I don’t feel beautiful many times, and I often feel older than my thirty-five  thirty-four years (I frequently forget my age). Reading Psalm 35 today, it’s so refreshing to be assured that nothing here on earth is new. As humans, we continue to make the same mistakes over and over again. In stark contrast, we serve a God who is perfection. He is still on His throne, and I will keep praising His name through anything life throws at me.

I am thankful that because of some of the negative circumstances in my own life, I can be an encouragement in the lives of others. Everyone needs a little “street cred” so to say.

I define beauty differently now than I used to, but I hope that my definition is a little closer to what God sees when he looks past our human bodies and into our souls. I remember as a teenager not understanding the difficulty with controlling one’s thought life. Now, as an adult, I have many days when I’d like to just wallow in anger and bitterness (and have). Have I mentioned that being a stay-at-home mom makes reining in your thought life difficult? The days seem unending and the topics available for me to dwell on seem overwhelming. But I must fix my eyes on Jesus, and tell my mind to put aside what is not beneficial. Hard times, people. I never considered myself to be a weak person, but I just asked my husband the other day if I seemed weaker than I was when he married me. He confirmed my suspicions were true.

 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

II Corinthians 12:10. So today I’ll be at home delighting in my weakness. Weakness in my life makes it easy to recognize my need for a Savior.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful

  1. Amber says:

    Beautifully said! It’s so easy to feel bad about being weak and human; like I’m letting God down. But maybe instead of Him being disappointed in me He’s reminding me that He loves me and that I NEED HIM.

Leave a Reply

