Knowledge vs. Belief

charlie

I was reading this post (isn’t this how I always start?), and I was convicted of my own disbelief. I am a lover of knowledge which makes it tough to believe sometimes. I think it’s always a power struggle within me to rely on God versus my own strength.

I can fight, resist, and argue, but I’ll be on my own because my God will not be big enough for me. Or I can agree and trust him and allow him to be my comfort and my strength as he makes the confusion, waiting, regret, and hopelessness fit.

Gary Morland

In the U.S. we grow up believing we can do anything we put our mind to, and I’m not saying this is always a bad thing, but when we put our mind to something which will inevitably lead to our own glory instead of God’s that can be bad. Motives play a big role in all of this. I remember a conversation with a coworker in which I took all of the glory for my seemingly perfect life. “You just have to take it one step at a time and make good choices.” While this advice seems harmless enough, I can’t help wondering how I left God out of it completely. What if I had been homeless and living on the street? I guess few people would’ve been inquiring of my recipe for success. Why do we associate financial prosperity with spirituality sometimes? I have no doubt that God can bless some with a lot and some with enough, but do we place more importance on those with excess?

I say I believe God and His sovereignty, but do my thoughts and actions show it? I need to use my energy to pursue God and a deeper with relationship with Him instead of pursuing knowledge in an attempt to control the situation on my own (this is usually my preference).

It’s in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ and got our hopes up, he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the overall purpose he is working out in everything and everyone.

Ephesians 1:11-12

Leave a Reply

