Vulnerable

charlie

In case you didn’t know Emily Freeman (author of Grace for the Good Girl) is the younger sister of the Nester (whose blog I’d been reading for awhile before I realized she was Emily’s older sister), and Gary Morland is their dad (I referenced one of his posts here). Isn’t that crazy? I am such a nosy person. The internet provides way too much access to information for an inquisitive soul like myself.

This quote from Emily’s blog really stood out to me today.

Fear tells me to run away from connection.

Vulnerability dares me to run towards it.

It turns out the emotional line between those two experiences is fragile and thin.

In the gathering that we had back in April for in(RL), which was awesome BTW, we discussed vulnerability briefly, and I confessed my fear of it. I don’t like to be vulnerable. I hate it, in fact. Just read the definition below according to dictionary.com.

vul·ner·a·ble

adjective

1.  capable of or susceptible to being wounded or hurt, as by a weapon: a vulnerable part of the body.
2.  open to moral attack, criticism, temptation, etc.: an argument vulnerable to refutation; He is vulnerable to bribery.
3.  (of a place) open to assault; difficult to defend: a vulnerable bridge.
 
No wonder I hate being vulnerable. Who wants to leave themselves open to pain? Especially when pain has already been inflicted, who in her right mind wants to allow herself to be vulnerable again?

Be alert. If you see your friend going wrong, correct him. If he responds, forgive him. Even if it’s personal against you and repeated seven times through the day, and seven times he says, ‘I’m sorry, I won’t do it again,’ forgive him.

Luke 17:3-4 (the Message)
 
See what I mean? Painful. Forgiveness is painful. Relationships are painful. In my mind, the benefits to relationship far outweigh the disadvantages. However, the times you have to put your money where you mouth is and really live out love in the face of adversity, relationships can seem overrated. This is my reminder to be vulnerable. Be real. Take a risk on somebody that could end up hurting me.
 
 
Leave a Reply

