Things I Learned in July

1. Since having kids, I have always hated the baby food stage of a child’s life. Yes, I am lazy. It is such a hassle to try to feed a baby who is just learning to eat solid food teeny little bites on a rubber coated spoon that holds 2/1000th of a teaspoon of pureed goo. Did I mention that I am also impatient? Good news! My laziness is now referred to as baby led weaning! I feel so much better now. It is good to know I am not alone in the world. Also good to know there is a more politically correct phrase to use when describing myself.

2. All of the racially motivated news that’s been overwhelming us lately really makes me think. I’m not sure I want to go on record with any opinion, but my desire is to really see people as God sees them (I Samuel 16:7b).

The Lord doesn’t see things the way you see them. People judge by outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.

I also love this quote from Corrie ten Boom:

Today I know that such memories are the key not to the past, but to the future. I know that the experiences of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.

3. I may only be capable of blogging once a month (or less), but that is where I am right now. We are enjoying the summer!

4. Our service at church and small group last night were so encouraging. This verse kept coming to mind (Hebrews 10:25):

And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.

Also, my two big kids were baptized, and there is nothing sweeter than seeing your kids go public with their faith!
2
5

Leave a Reply

