Aliens

13
I know it’s been a while since I’ve written, but I just thought I’d share something briefly that God brought to mind. I was talking to my husband about my desire for my kids to go through their entire school experience with the same group of kids (Lord willing, of course). I want them to know what it means to belong, to have history with a group of people who may be diverse in their beliefs and backgrounds. Things that happened this year seemed to diminish my hopes for my children to experience that sense of belonging that I yearned for them to have. Of course, they will always belong to our family and hopefully they all will spend eternity with their heavenly Father, but the future in their school didn’t seem quite as bright as I had initially envisioned. As I sat reflecting on my feelings and wondering why I was so disappointed, the phrase “aliens in a foreign land” came to mind. I read 1 Peter 1 and 2 which was a great reminder of our purpose here on earth. We will long for that feeling of inclusion and belonging from the residents here, but on earth we will never truly find it. As believers, we are simply aliens, foreigners, whose home is in heaven.

Friends, this world is not your home, so don’t make yourselves cozy in it. Don’t indulge your ego at the expense of your soul. Live an exemplary life among the natives so that your actions will refute their prejudices. Then they’ll be won over to God’s side and be there to join in the celebration when he arrives.
-1 Peter 2:11-12

While I’m copying scripture, this next passage is something I should probably read daily, or even better, hourly! Suffering in silence? It feels like an impossible request. I know I’ve failed miserably at this, but here’s to a fresh start!

This is the kind of life you’ve been invited into, the kind of life Christ lived. He suffered everything that came his way so you would know that it could be done, and also know how to do it, step-by-step.
He never did one thing wrong,
Not once said anything amiss.
They called him every name in the book and he said nothing back. He suffered in silence, content to let God set things right. He used his servant body to carry our sins to the Cross so we could be rid of sin, free to live the right way. His wounds became your healing. You were lost sheep with no idea who you were or where you were going. Now you’re named and kept for good by the Shepherd of your souls.
-1 Peter 2:21-25

Leave a Reply

