Distracted

“Oh, this was the great ploy of Satan in that kingdom of his: to display such blatant evil one could almost believe one’s own secret sin didn’t matter.”
― Corrie ten Boom, The Hiding Place

I loved reading The Hiding Place in junior high. It is one of those profound books that sticks with you throughout the years. I have often thought back on it as I see others endure much and looked to Corrie ten Boom as a hero. If Corrie ten Boom could forgive her oppressors surely I can forgive this petty sin of fill-in-the-blank. Of course, we know this forgiveness business is all about the work of God anyway. It’s nothing we can accomplish on our own.

My heart grieves today. I wonder why we do not deal with others in the manner prescribed by scripture. Why do I need to make someone’s life miserable as payment for the mistreatment I have endured? Is that my job? I cry witnessing such godly (yet imperfect) men and women and families laid low, cut deeply by someone in their past who chooses to exact their revenge on them in cruel, calculated ways. Did Christ not die for the sins of the world? Every one of them, big or small, thoughts or carried out actions. I grieve for these misfits and outcasts. I pray that God will comfort them and whisper their worth to them over and over. I pray that they find their feet again and walk in faith the new path God has made for them.

We have a great responsibility in this internet age, and I pray God raises up a generation of believers who approach this accumulation of endless information from a Biblical standpoint.

So they sent this message to Joseph: “Before your father died, he instructed us to say to you: ‘Please forgive your brothers for the great wrong they did to you—for their sin in treating you so cruelly.’ So we, the servants of the God of your father, beg you to forgive our sin.” When Joseph received the message, he broke down and wept. Then his brothers came and threw themselves down before Joseph. “Look, we are your slaves!” they said.

But Joseph replied, “Don’t be afraid of me. Am I God, that I can punish you? You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people. No, don’t be afraid. I will continue to take care of you and your children.” So he reassured them by speaking kindly to them.

Genesis 50:16-21

I mean can you even imagine this? All that Joseph endured at the hands of his brothers and he chooses to forgive them, to care for them, and to acknowledge the way God used it in his life. Just amazing.

If a tongue can start a fire, then how much damage can the internet cause? We must use our words wisely, written and spoken. Feeling so convicted today to stop being distracted by the blatant evil and start looking within.

Leave a Reply

